Is Coffee Creamer Gluten Free: Best Guide For You!

To answer the question, “Is coffee creamer gluten free?” we’ll be breaking down the answer into multiple bits of frequently asked questions you might have in mind, too. Stick around to know if your favorite creamer is gluten-free or which ones you should get next time. 

Many of us can’t start the day right without a nice cup of joe at the crack of dawn. It’s almost an understatement to say that you can’t have a good day without coffee.

We all like our coffee in different ways. Flat white, black, iced, and many other ways you can imagine. For some, we like our coffee to taste smoother with coffee creamer for that extra creamy mouthfeel. But for those on a gluten-free diet, using coffee creamers can be quite a gamble.

Coffee Creamer
Coffee Creamer

Aren’t you curious about what a dollop of coffee-creamer is made of? While you may enjoy gluten-free coffee at chains like Dutch Bros, you’ve got to be cautious when brewing at home!

Although the contents vary among brands, coffee-creamers are generally made of oils, water, sugar, milk (or milk derivatives), and other flavorings. It has no big health benefit or danger if you add creamer to your coffee. So, why do we need it?

Why Do We Add Creamer to Coffee?

It’s almost like the million-dollar question if you’re one of those who like plain coffee without a trace of cream or milk. (We all like our coffee in special ways!)

Many kinds of coffee all over the world call for the use of coffee creamer. For that extra foamy mouth feel or to decorate your coffee, adding milk can be very helpful for some coffee lovers.

This is because the milk in your creamer masks that bitterness in the coffee. It makes your coffee a lot thicker and smoother with a sweeter taste. Coffee-creamers may also help lessen your coffee’s acidity if you need your cup to be less acidic.

However, using coffee-creamers can be tricky if you’re on a gluten-free diet.

Is Coffee Gluten-Free?

Assuming that no cross-contamination has occurred, plain coffee should be gluten-free. But that doesn’t end there.

Coffee can be processed in a facility where gluten is present. Of course, that means even your coffee beans or powdered coffee can be in danger due to cross-contamination.

Flavored coffee, too, isn’t always gluten-free. Some stuff that goes into flavored coffee, like flavorings, may have been derived from gluten grains, making it unsafe.

This doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy a nice cup of joe, though! While other people grind their own coffee beans to be extra sure, you can always opt for brands that are surely gluten-free.

Some coffee enthusiasts on a gluten-free diet try to find more ways to enhance their coffee to spice it up a bit. Of course, this includes what nice coffee creamers can do.

Do Coffee Creamers Have Gluten?

Frankly, there is no single answer for this one. Some coffee-creamers are gluten-free, while other variants contain gluten items like wheat flour.

We recommend researching more about your coffee creamer or checking its ingredient label. These ways will allow you to know what goes into your coffee-creamer before consumption instead of just relying on that gutfeel. Better be safe than sorry!

Best Gluten-Free Coffee Creamer

The best gluten-free coffee-creamer would probably be the one that won’t make you sick yet still makes your coffee a hundred times better. Jokes aside, you can try a handful of good gluten-free coffee-creamers in the market. Here are some brands which offer the best gluten-free coffee-creamers in America:

  • International Delight
  • Coffee Mate
  • Nutpods
  • SOWN
  • Natural Bliss

There’s more to this list… and we could go on. Make sure to read on to see whether your preferred flavors from these brands are gluten-free.  

Do Non-Dairy Creamers Contain Gluten?

Chances are if you have gluten sensitivity, you may also have (or had) lactose intolerance or other sorts of digestive system issues. Although this isn’t always the case, some of us just prefer non-dairy creamers.

Ever wondered if these kinds are gluten-free? To answer that: Yes, non-dairy creamers are usually gluten-free. Most non-dairy creamers in the market also come with a certified gluten-free label, making it a better choice for those looking for a gluten-free AND non-dairy coffee creamer.

For example, Coffee Mate’s The Original Liquid Coffee Creamer is non-dairy, lactose-free, and gluten-free.

Dairy creamers, however, typically contain gluten because gluten-based ingredients are needed for better texture or taste. This is why many gluten-free coffee creamers in the market are also non-dairy.

Do Dairy-Free Creamers Contain Gluten?

Dairy-free and non-dairy are two different terms used for the same purpose: the absence of milk in a product. Dairy-free is used for products completely free of dairy, while non-dairy products may contain a milk derivative.

Like non-dairy creamers, most dairy-free coffe-creamers are also gluten-free. Many variants of Nutpods’ coffee creamers are gluten- and dairy-free simultaneously.

FAQs

We know you’re curious if the coffee creamer on your tabletop is gluten-free. To save you from the hassle, we created a list of your favorite coffee-creamers to see if they are gluten-free.

Is Chobani Coffee Creamer Gluten-Free?

Based on its website, all Chobani coffee creamers are gluten-free. You can check your preferred coffee creamer flavor on Chobani’s website and scroll down to see its nutritional information.
Chobani features several flavors and kinds of coffee creamers. From plant-based, non-dairy oat-based to dairy creamers. Here are Chobani’s gluten-free coffee creamers:
Caramel MacchiatoChocolate Hazelnut
Sweet and Creamy
French Vanilla
Vanilla
Sweet Cream
Caramel
Hazelnut

Is Coffee Mate French Vanilla Gluten-Free?

Yes. According to Nestle, Coffee Mate’s Powdered Creamer, available in four flavors, are all free of gluten, lactose, and cholesterol. One of which is America’s favorite flavor, French Vanilla. The richest and creamiest among these flavors.
If you have the Liquid Creamer kind with you, no worries! All forms of Coffee Mate’s non-dairy French Vanilla Coffee Creamer are gluten-free, whether you have the powdered creamer canister or the liquid coffee creamer bottle.

Is Coffee Mate Hazelnut Creamer Gluten-Free?

Like Coffee Mate’s French Vanilla variant, its Hazelnut creamer is also gluten-free (and lactose-free!) You can enjoy Coffee Mate’s Hazelnut gluten-free coffee creamer in any form.

Is Delight Creamer Gluten-Free?

Yes. According to International Delight, all of its products do not contain any gluten. That means you can enjoy all flavors of its coffee creamer line without the guilt!
International Delight also has sugar-free coffee creamers if you want something healthier to make your coffee tastier. Sugar-free flavors include French Vanilla, Caramel Macchiato, Pumpkin Pie Spice, and White Chocolate Mocha. 

Conclusion (and Some Tips)

To each their own. There’s no denying that coffee creamers are godsent gifts for people who like their coffee a little sweeter.

However, not all coffee creamers are gluten-free. Although many brands now offer more gluten-free coffee creamers to keep up with the demand, nothing beats being extra safe with your cup of coffee for your health.

So before you go and grab a gluten-free coffee creamer, here are some handy tips for our die-hard coffee lovers out there with gluten sensitivities.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.